Top of PageSkip to main content
Moot Court Society

Moot Court Society

Moot Court

Since its inception, the Moot Court Society has been one of the most prestigious and active societies of the Shepard Broad College of Law. Membership in the Society provides students with an opportunity to supplement their “book learning” with practical experience in appellate-level oral advocacy.

By participating in various tournaments, members of the Society apply their problem solving skills by writing an appellate brief on a specific problem and then arguing their case before a panel of judges. These skills are invaluable to anyone contemplating a career in litigation. The practical experience gained through Moot Court is also invaluable to student’s employment prospects since many employers seek out students who are members of the Society.

The first opportunity to become involved in the Moot Court Society occurs during second semester of a student’s first year of law school. Students that elect to participate will compete in the annual Feinrider First Year Competition. Students who are successful in this competition will become Candidates for Moot Court Membership. Additional opportunities to become a member will occur in the Fall semester each year and are open to second, third and fourth year students.  Students that elect to participate will compete in the annual Feinrider Upperclass Competition.  Students who are successful in this competition will be invited to become a member of the Moot Court Society.

Once a student becomes a member of the Society, they will have a chance to compete for a position on one of the Society’s traveling teams. The Society proudly sends teams each year to various competitions across the country.

Throughout the year, the Moot Court Society will invite you to attend our functions. We encourage you to watch our excellent advocates develop and refine their advocacy skills. Please email any of our Executive Board Officers if you have any questions.

2017-2018 Executive Board

Bethany Pandher
Chief Justice
Brandon Polsky Executive Justice for Competitions
Ritika Singh Executive Justice for Teams
Jamie Nakoa Executive Justice for Academics

Faculty Advisors

Heather Baxter Professor of Law
Shahabudeen Khan Professor of Law

General Members

  • Vivian Arenas
  • Jennifer Bautista
  • Daniella Brooks
  • Jessica Crain
  • Claudia Cuador
  • Dominic DeCesare
  • Amanda Decker
  • Linette De Los Santos
  • Paul V. Dent III
  • Kelly Ann Des Roisers
  • Nicole Dominguez
  • Ana Engativa
  • Chidinma (Victoria) Esiobu
  • Kelli Evangelist
  • Jason Farbiarz
  • Francesco Ferro
  • Alexander Forjan
  • James Foster
  • Elizabeth Fridman
  • Matthew Glass
  • Tomas Gonzalez
  • Keisha Hall
  • Claudiu Handaric
  • David Hernandez
  • Matthew Hunt
  • Carlos Ibarcena
  • Ileana Jerez
  • Andres Kroboth
  • Clarisa Mondejar
  • Mariana Muci
  • Haydee Nakash
  • Jamie Nakoa
  • Estefania Negrette
  • Shlomo Nizahon
  • Francesca Oilvier
  • Nicholas Palomino
  • Bethany Pandher
  • Juan Chavez Pernett
  • Brittney Polo
  • Brandon Polsky
  • Peter Radke
  • Andrea Recine
  • Hunter Rhyne
  • Cristina San Lucas
  • Ashley Sefchok
  • Aleah Shuren
  • Bryan Siddique
  • Ritika Singh
  • Timothy Lee Smith
  • Christopher Spoo
  • Thomas Sternberg
  • Diana Tellez
  • Vanessa Terrades
  • Malorie Vasallo
  • Stephanie Viel
  • Nicole Villamar
  • Gabriela Villamizar
  • Jacarri Walker
  • Tshai Wright
  • Javier Zayas-Bazan
Return to top of page